Alien Project – Sculpture!

This was probably one of the most exciting parts of this project, as I’d never really worked with Super Sculpey before. Now that I had created the skate deck, I had a pretty good idea of what I wanted my hand to look like in terms of shape and texture. I bought a couple meters of copper wire as a way to create a mesh for the hand.

Here’s what I started out with:

- Acrylic Paint (shades of green)
- Copper wire (2 meters)
- Super Sculpey (1 pound)
- Carving tools (or use your fingers)
- An oven (to bake the clay once you’ve made it)

Materials:

sculpture_01

sculpture_02

sculpture_03

Shaped the sculpey after kneading it for a bit…I didn’t really end up using the mesh itself but I did use it as a reference to create the shape.

sculpture_04

sculpture_05

After baking, painted it with a couple shades of green and that was it!!

sculpture_06

sculpture_07

sculpture_08

sculpture_09

sculpture_10

About Aamir Raza

VFX enthusiast and Digital Media Artist living in Toronto. // www.digitaleffectx.wordpress.com

Posted on April 21, 2012, in Sketching for Communication and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

